Tyler Alumni Hosting Event for A&M-Commerce President

COMMERCE, Texas — The Tyler/Smith County Alumni of Texas A&M University-Commerce will host a reception on Thursday, Nov. 13, for Dr. Dan Jones, president of A&M-Commerce, and his wife, Jalinna.

The reception, set from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m., will be at the home of Rhona and Timothy Meads. All former students and graduates of A&M-Commerce, formerly East Texas State University, are invited.

In July 2008, Jones became the eleventh president of A&M-Commerce, which was established in 1889. Prior to coming to A&M-Commerce, he had served as provost and vice president at Texas A&M International University in Laredo.

The host committee is chaired by Larry Goddard with members Dr. Johnny Abbey, Barbara Bass, Ted Conover, Wynell Goddard, Maxine Darst Flatt, Linda Lewis, Byron Meads, Nita Meads, Timothy Meads, Rhona Meads, Dr. Arnold Oates, and Dr. Martha Oates.

Also on the committee are Dr. Karen Raney, Tanya Redic, Dr. Randy Reid, Freeman Sterling, Ken Threlkeld, Mr. and Mrs. Mike Wilcox, Laci Wright, and Michael Young.

To attend the reception, call the A&M-Commerce Alumni Relations Office at 800-675-4667.