Students Earn Distinguished Awards at the TAMUS Pathways Student Research Symposium

Texas A&M University-Commerce students took the first place spot in three out of six overall distinguished awards categories at The Texas A&M University System 12th Annual Pathways Student Research Symposium. The symposium is open to all Texas A&M System students and allows students to present research and interact with faculty, judges and participants.

“The A&M System Pathways Symposium is an excellent opportunity to exhibit the research talent of our students. I am very proud that our students presented their research projects in this large venue and performed with such excellence. For the third year in a row, A&M-Commerce students won the most awards of all A&M institutions participating in the symposium,” said Vice Provost for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies Dr. Arlene Horne. “This speaks to the quality of education that our students are receiving at A&M-Commerce. In fact, three of our students received distinction awards, which are the highest awards possible. We are very proud of our showing at the Pathways Symposium this year.”

The six overall distinguished awards categories were divided based on the type of presentation, either poster or oral, and the academic level of the presentation, undergraduate, master’s or doctoral. A&M-Commerce overall winners included John Naizer for his undergraduate poster presentation, Swati Balluri in the master’s poster presentation category and Katherine Skrabanek for her oral presentation.

“I was excited to hear about the recognition received by students from Texas A&M University-Commerce at this year’s Pathways Student Research Symposium. The research produced by these students is a testament to their ability and resolve and the university’s investment in student success,” said the Dean of the Honors College Dr. Raymond Green. “Texas A&M University-Commerce attracts top notch students who, once they arrive on campus, are given the support and resources that they need to achieve, and often surpass, their academic dreams.”

A&M-Commerce doctoral winners included Meichan Huang, Nelly Shora and Hilal Ergul, who ranked first, second and third respectively in doctoral social science poster presentations. In addition, Victoria Scholz earned the third spot in doctoral social sciences oral presentations.

Students ranking in the master’s category included Katherine Skrabanek and Samuel Lawrence who ranked first and third respectively for their oral presentation in social sciences. First place master’s poster presentation awards went to undergraduate student Brandy Spoor in agriculture, Christopher Woodard in business and computer info, Ambre Fairfield in education, Swati Balluri in life science and James Wheeler in physical science. Second place master’s poster presentation award winners included Fatma Abu Hawas in computer science, Jacob McCabe in physical science and Sam Ijeh in social sciences. Simbarashe Mazambani took the third place spot in master’s life science poster presentations.

Undergraduate poster presentation winners included first in physical science John Naizer, second in mathematics Jennifer Patterson and third in life science Collin Rodgers.

For more information about the symposium, visit: