Search Committee Named to Find Candidates to Become Next President of Texas A&M University-Commerce

Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp announced Monday that a 13-member committee has been created to conduct a national search for the next President of Texas A&M University-Commerce.

The committee includes two members of The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents and representation from the faculty, students and administrators at A&M-Commerce, as well as several community leaders from the region.

The search committee will screen and interview candidates over the next several weeks and is charged with recommending no fewer than three finalists to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.

In January, outgoing A&M-Commerce President Ray Keck announced his intention to step down by Aug. 31, 2018. The regents hope to have a finalist selected to succeed President Keck in time to ensure a seamless transition.

“Selecting the next president of A&M-Commerce is not only critical for the future of the institution, but also for the well-being of the community and region,” said Chancellor Sharp. “I want to thank these individuals for volunteering their time for this important task.”

The members of the search committee are:

Bill Mahomes (Chair)
The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents

Tim Leach
The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents

Chuck Arize
Regents Professor of Business Administration
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Julia Ballenger
Professor of Educational Leadership
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Alicia Currin
Vice President for Business and Administration
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Jeremy Gamez
Staff Council President
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Andrea Graham
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Texas A&M University-Commerce

LaVelle Hendricks
Associate Professor of Counseling
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Chad King
Faculty Senate President
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Senator Ted Lyon
Ted B. Lyon & Associates

Josh Skinner (Ex Officio)
Student Body President
Texas A&M University-Commerce

Graham Sweeney
Boles Independent School District

Ken Threlkeld
Chairman Emeritus
Threlkeld & Company Insurance

Additionally, the university community has been invited to meet with the President Search Advisory Committee on March 6 to share their thoughts on the next president. Meetings will take place in Rayburn Student Center Traditions at the following times:

Faculty – 1:00 PM
Staff – 2:30 PM
Students – 4:00 PM