KETR wins 11 awards including a Regional Murrow Award for achievements in journalism

KETR 88.9, public radio for northeast Texas, earned a combined total of 11 awards from the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters in recognition of excellence and achievements in journalism. The station garnered nine first place awards and two second place awards. The station also received a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association.

“We create our news and sports content with our audience in mind, and we consider ourselves fortunate when we are recognized by our peers for our work,” said Jerrod Knight, KETR’s general manager.

Scott Morgan’s “Does Texas Have a Hog Problem? Yes. So How Did We Get Here?” was awarded the Regional Murrow Award for Excellence in Sound. The Murrow Awards have been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism. Morgan’s entry will now advance to the National Murrow Award competition where winners will be announced in June.

KETR’s other awards included:

Use of Actuality-Production
-First Place: George Hale and Jerrod Knight; “Buried”
-Second Place: Scott Morgan; “Does Texas Have a Hog Problem? Yes. So How Did We Get Here?”

General Assignment
-First Place: Mark Haslett; “Commerce Water: What Do Those Postcards Mean?”
-Second Place: Mark Haslett; “Norris Residents: Sidewalks, Ivory Moore Park Essential to Revitalization”

Digital (formerly Website)
-First Place: Mark Haslett and Jerrod Knight;

Feature (Serious)
-First Place: Scott Morgan; “What Conservative Women Say (and Don’t) About Sexual Harassment”

Feature (Light)
-First Place: Scott Morgan; “Does Texas Have a Hog Problem? Yes. So How Did We Get Here?”

Investigative Report
-First Place: George Hale; “Buried”

Specialty or Beat Reporting
-First Place: George Hale; “Environment and Development”

Sports Anchor or Anchor Team
-First Place: Jared Taylor and BJ Laudermilk

Sports Play-by-Play
-First Place: John Mark Dempsey and Kevin Jefferies; “Commerce Tiger Football”

All award submissions were made to the Radio Division II competition where participants are from stations that are outside of Texas’ major metropolitan areas. Awards are given in categories that demonstrate a specific aspect or technique of newsgathering or presentation.

“As always, these awards recognize the work that our news and sports staff are doing day-in and day-out,” Knight said. “With so many important stories being shared by so many talented journalists and storytellers throughout the Lone Star State, the staff here are deeply honored to be counted among some of the best.”

The awards were announced April 21 at an event in Austin.

The mission of KETR is to provide Northeast Texas citizens and the Texas A&M University-Commerce community with entertaining, educational and informative programming. The station also serves as a learning environment for university students to pursue excellence in broadcasting and journalism.

The Texas Associated Press Broadcasters is a not-for-profit organization made up of the various Texas radio and television stations who subscribe to the Associated Press wire service. TAPB serves as an advocate for key issues in today’s media and works with other groups on programs related to freedom of speech, freedom of information, and media law.