Class Notes spring 2012


Dr. Bob Dowell (M.A. ’57), former professor, has recently published his third book Understanding the Bible: Head and Heart and is being published in three parts: The Old Testament, Matthew through Acts, and Romans through Revelation. The first two parts have been published. Part three is forthcoming.

Susan A. Hyde (B.S. ’58) recently published her first book A Listing Wind, about murder, jealousy and true love
in Texas.


Ronald L. Bigony (B.S. ’64) had one of his paintings accepted into the American Watercolors 145th International Exhibition.

E.R. Gammill (M.S. ’67), deceased, was honored with a dedication ceremony held in January 2012 in the Ybor Science Hall at the Hillsborough Community College, Ybor Campus-Tampa, Fla., in celebration of his life; husband, geologist, close friend of many and HCC instructor for 20 years.

Dr. John West (B.S. ’61) was honored by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes as the 2011 Coach of Influence.

Carol Wilcoxson (B.S. ’66) has just written her first novel No Record of Wrongs, which is now being published by Tate Publishing Company in Mustang, Okla.


Robert V. “Buddie” Barnes, Jr. (B.S. ’76) was recently recognized for his leadership in the masonry industry with the C. DeWitt Brown Leadman Award by the Mason Contractors Association.

Alan Heath (M.A. ’73) was named president and CEO of UMR Communications in Dallas, a ministry dedicated to providing communication services to the churches of the United Methodist Church as well as other non-profit organizations.

Dr. Duane Hood (B.S. ’63, M.S. ’67, Ph.D. ‘71), retired administrator of student services for Western Texas College, has been chosen as Phi Theta Kappa’s 2012 Board of Directors Alumni Achievement Award winner in recognition of his service contributions in support of Phi Theta Kappa on the local, national and international levels.

Dr. John Gratton (M.S. ’72, Ed.D.’78) was named president of New Mexico State University-Carlsbad in January. NMSU-Carlsbad is a two-year institution and is part of The NMSU System.

Leonora Patience Barnard McGuffey (B.S. ’74) has retired after 31 years of teaching. For the last 27 years, she has taught technology in the Van Independent School District where she received the Teacher of the Year award in 2011 and 2005.

Alfred S. Taylor (B.S. ’71) has been living in Germany for 24 years as a restaurant and bar owner.

Steven Trachier (B.S. ’79, M.S. ’81) was appointed athletic director for Texas Wesleyan University.

Robert L. “Bob” Walker (B.S. ’70) was recently named president and CEO of Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children in Dallas.


Kevin C. Banks (B.B.A. ’82) works as the director of synergy at Partnership Marketing for The Walt Disney Company in New York.

Rhonda Meads (B.S.’82) wife of Timothy C. Meads (B.B.A.’82) was named Austin Elementary School’s Teacher of the Year for 2011-2012 in Tyler ISD. Rhonda teaches fourth grade math and science and has been a teacher for 19 years.

Leslie Williams Patterson (B.B.A. ’88) recently completed her M.Ed. degree in special education with an emphasis in dyslexia at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls. She is a certified academic language therapist and teaches students with dyslexia in the Caddo Mills Independent School District.

Dr. Valerie J.H. Powell (M.S. ’82) professor at Robert Morris University recently published a book entitled Integration of Medical and Dental Care and Patient Data. The book informs readers of the needs and rationale for the integration of medical and dental care and gives an international perspective as to how and where medical and dental care separated into specific domains.


Anthony “Tony” Aguilar (B.S. ’96, M.S. ’99) took some time off after working in Bagdad, Iraq during Operation Iraqi Freedom II and III and decided to enlist in the U.S. Army and commemorate the 10th anniversary of September 11. He graduated in September from basic training and is now stationed in Fort Bragg, N.C.

Jeffrey S Burnett (B.S. ’97, M.S. ’98, Ed.D. ’01) received the national faculty advisor of the year award from the National Academic Advising Association. He was also honored with Fort Hays State University’s pilot award, the highest faculty award at FHSU in Kansas.

Robby “Rob” Collins (B.S. ’95) begins his 16th year with the CBS affiliate in Champaign, Ill. He is currently the anchor and executive producer of a four-hour morning show boasting number one ratings in all market categories.

Wanda Adkins Hamilton (B.S. ’94) and her husband Chris are proud to announce the birth of their second daughter Riley Morgan in July 2011.

Cory S. Johnson (B.S. ’98) was hired as manager of public relations for UniFocus, a workforce management software company in Carrollton.


Julie Barnard (B.S. ’08) received her Masters of Physician Assistant Studies from Texas Tech University Health Science Center and has joined Dr. Les Sandknop Family Practice in Greenville.

Justin A. Holland (M.S. ’08) is the business development officer at HomeBank Texas in Rockwall. He currently serves on the Heath City Council in Place 2 and is the youngest person ever elected to public office in Heath.

Dr. Cole McClendon (Ed.D. ’07) has been named the lone finalist for superintendent of Community ISD.

Dr. Gwen Schroth (Retired ’03) former professor of educational administration, has published a fictionalized non-fiction book based on her experiences growing up in India, daughter of a Mennonite missionary entitled Curry, Corduroy and the Call.

Donna Zemanek, CPA, RTSBA (M.B.A. ’08) has recently joined Brazos River Authority as an internal auditor. She is also an adjunct instructor at Tarleton State University in the undergraduate program.


Ashly Perryman Fielder (B.S. ’08, M.Ed. ‘10) married Joel Fielder June 11, 2011.

Brian Fiorisi (M.B.A.’10) and Stephanie Peebles Fiorisi (B.S.’05) welcomed their first child, Jonathan Michael on February 5, 2012.

David Gonzales (B.A.A.S. ’10) was promoted to planner for the City of Rockwall.

Ashley Johnson (M.S.’11) and husband Brent Johnson announce the birth of their first child, daughter Bailey Grayce, Feb. 14, 2012.

Melissa Chappell O’Neal (B.S. ’07, MEd. ’11) and her husband Charles (B.S. ’07) welcomed their first child, Jordan Marie O’Neal, in September 2011 and both hope that she follows in their footsteps.