Campus Life & Student Development Hosts First Awards Ceremony

The Texas A&M University-Commerce Campus Life and Student Development Division held its first awards ceremony on May 1.

Assistant Vice President and Dean of Campus Life & Student Development John Kaulfus created the awards ceremony for the division because he felt the staff members who go above and beyond their prescribed duties should be recognized. At the ceremony, four CLSD Awards were presented to Bettie Kennedy for customer service, Kyle Hickman received the graduate assistant award, and two Imagine Awards went to Nick Patras and Dr. Zach Shirley. The Imagine Awards are given to individuals whose work empowers A&M-Commerce students to achieve their full potential by creating an atmosphere of comfortable communication and support. These individuals demonstrate commitment to fostering students’ leadership and development.

“Choosing four winners from a staff of seventy-five full-time staff members was no easy feat, but the four staff members recognized today are outstanding in so many ways,” said Kaulfus. “Each one gives their time and opens their hearts to students on a daily basis. I am in awe of each of them!”

Eleven CLSD Partnership Awards were given to UPD’s Chief of Police Donna Spinato, Custodial Supervisor with SSC Angela Thomas, Assistant Professor in Higher Education Derek Lester, Success Coach Jennifer Hudson, IT Maintenance Tech John Hackett, Title IX Administrator Michele Vieira, Buyer and Assistant HUB Coordinator Blake Shaw, Assistant Professor of Health and Human Performance Gwen Weatherford, Associate Athletic Director for Academics Judy Sackfield and Executive Director of Budgets and Business Services Tina Livingston. The Partnership Awards are given to individuals who go above and beyond in their work to assist and collaborate with the departments from Campus Life & Student Development.

“Campus Life and Student Development would not be able to serve our students as well if it were not for the incredible partners we have on campus,” said Kaulfus. “Each winner of this year’s CLSD Partnership Awards went above and beyond to assist students and reach out to their colleagues. It is this camaraderie that makes Texas A&M University-Commerce ‘The Campus that Cares’.”

CLSD also recognized staff members Tyson Kehler and Michelle McGhee as well as graduate assistants Kyle Hickman and Justin Bryant who will be leaving the department. Assistant Director of Student Activities and Leadership Connie Mears is retiring, so CLSD has decided to re-name the partnership awards the Connie Mears Partnership Awards beginning with next year’s recipients to honor her hard work and dedication to the university.

For more information on CLSD and what they do, contact Dean Kaulfus at [email protected].

CLSD Awards 2

CLSD Awards 3

CLSD Awards