Alumni Honored at 2015 Alumni Awards Gala

The Alumni Association at Texas A&M University-Commerce honored seven new Distinguished Alumni and two new Gold Blazers at the annual Alumni Awards Gala on April 25, 2015. Over 175 guests were treated to a reception, formal dinner and awards ceremony in the Sam Rayburn Student Center to commemorate the event.

“It was certainly a pleasure to help plan this year’s Alumni Awards Gala,” said Rachel Curling, communications and events coordinator. “The event went off without a hitch! We were delighted to honor a group of outstanding individuals whose accomplishments and contributions are a source of pride for the Alumni Association and the university. Events such as this help to encourage the advancement, interests, and welfare of the university by keeping our alumni informed and involved.”

The Distinguished Alumni award recognizes alumni that have achieved outstanding success in their chosen professions. This year’s honorees include Dr. Deborah Brennan, Ted Conover, JoAnn Durham, Joe Griffith, Dr. Jane Harper, Dr. Leonard Merrell and Kenneth Threlkeld.

Honorees receiving the Gold Blazer awards are recognized for their outstanding service to the university. This year’s honorees are Susan Dorsey, and Frank Turner.

To learn more information about the Distinguished Alumni and Gold Blazer Awards, visit to learn more.